Camosun recognizes faculty contributions to open education

Over 40 faculty members at Camosun College are being recognized for their contributions to open educational resources that are benefiting students in a diverse range of programs and courses.

Camosun College staff sit behind a table that has information on open education resources.

Camosun College

Camosun College staff provided students and faculty with information on open education resources during Open Education Week 2024

Open educational resources are defined by BCcampus as teaching, learning and research resources that, through permissions granted by their creator, allow others to use, distribute, keep or make changes to them. One of the simplest examples is open textbooks, which are available digitally in shareable formats to be used freely by anyone. Open textbooks have helped make post-secondary education more accessible by reducing costs to students, while allowing faculty to customize or modify the textbooks to meet specific learning outcomes.

Open educational resources are available to students at Camosun in programs ranging from anthropology and marketing through to trades and sports management.

“Faculty at Camosun have been adopting, adapting, and creating open educational resources to provide zero textbook course options for students for many years,” says Emily Schudel, Instructional Designer, Open Education and Chair of the Dr. Lloyd Morin Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at Camosun College. “We are thrilled to finally be celebrating their important work so we can encourage more faculty to take the leap into open education.”

Award recipients will be celebrated at an Open Education Showcase and Recognition Awards event supported in part by a grant from BCcampus taking place on Friday, March 8 from 2pm until 4pm at the Sherri Bell Hall in the Wilna Thomas Building, Lansdowne Campus.

Open Education Week runs from March 4 -8 and is being marked by a number of events and initiatives taking place on campuses throughout the week.




The following faculty and programs are being recognized:

School of Arts and Science

Katie Waterhouse, Anthropology

Leanne Pyle, Geoscience

Randal Tonks, Psychology

Susan Chen, Math and Stats

Patricia Wrean, Math and Stats

Stephanie Ingraham, Physics


School of Access

Puja Gupta, CLP/Access


EDCP Program

Diane Gilliland

Val Neaves

Allyson Butt


School of Trades and Technology

Brian Coey, Sheet Metal

Kyle Broad, Sheet Metal


Pipe Trades Department

Al Paterson

Alasdair Reid

Andrea Durdle

Andy Wilson

Darren Hall

Darren Vaux

Dennis Morris

Derek Meadows

Josh Stull

Landon Martin

Robert Medwid

Rodney Lidstone

Ron Perkin

Steve Nixon

Steve Bitschy

Flynn Bowles

James Smyth


School of Business

Michelle Clement, Marketing


School of Health and Human Services

Liz Morch, Dental Hygiene


Centre for Sport & Exercise Education

Sport Management Program

Charles Parkinson

Brianna Waldman

Chris Psutka

Anthony Pluta (term)

Robert Bettauer (term)

Michael Suraci (term)

Graham Thomson (term)

Simon Cass (term)


Adventure Education Program

John Telford

Michael Pardy


Contact information

Rodney Porter

Camosun College


Additional Contact Info

Emily Schudel

Instructional Designer