Camosun logo for print

April 15, 2011

Student-athletes, coaches and supporters of the Camosun College Chargers gathered at the Harbour Towers Hotel this evening to recognize the achievements of the College's student-athletes and coaches at the Chargers' 17th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony.

President’s Cup presentation with Blake Mansbridge and President Kathryn Laurin.

President’s Cup presentation with Blake Mansbridge and President Kathryn Laurin. 

Two Camosun student-athletes were awarded major prizes at the event which was emceed by 'A' Vancouver Island News sports anchor/reporters Mira Laurence and Jordan Cunningham.

Third-year guard Blake Mansbridge (Dover Bay, Nanaimo) from the Chargers men's basketball team earned the prestigious President's Cup award for achieving the highest academic standing of his peers for the Fall 2010 semester (8.67 GPA) in Camosun's Associate of Arts Degree program and for his high level of commitment to the Chargers athletics program.

"As a dedicated individual with a competitive edge and strong work ethic, Blake is a wonderful example of how Camosun's student-athletes are striving for absolute excellence," said Camosun President Kathryn Laurin.

Mansbridge was also described as a great leader and teammate and someone that everyone is proud to know. While presently undecided about his career goals, the 6'2" guard is considering the option of moving to Ontario where he will continue his academic and athletic career at the University of Brandon.

Second-year Stephen Richter from the Chargers men's volleyball program was the recipient of the Linda Henderson Award for Excellence for demonstrating commitment, strength of character and a high level of proficiency in the sport of volleyball.

The second-year 6'3" leftside hitter from Whiterock transferred to Camosun this past Fall from Thompson Rivers University and is enrolled in the College's Business Administration program.

"Stephen is very balanced in his approach to volleyball, school and life in general," said Chargers men's volleyball Head Coach Charles Parkinson. "He sees the humor in life and in the process of living had has a unique way of presenting it."

Both Mansbridge and Richter joined five other Chargers student-athletes in receiving the BCCAA Academic Excellence Award sponsored by Accent Inns for achieving an academic honours standing over a minimum period of one full academic year and 27 credit hours. Included were Ryan Erikson - University Transfer (men's basketball), Kelsey Fletcher - Business Administration (women's volleyball), Henrik Herrebroeden - Associate of Arts (men's volleyball), Chelsea McMullen - Sports Management (women's basketball) and Jessica Williams - University Transfer (women's basketball).

Sponsored by Wilson's Transportation, a number of individual awards were presented to student-athletes for their outstanding academic and athletic performances within the BCCAA and CCAA conferences throughout the year. Included were:

Suzanna Campbell (Penticton), 1st year setter, women's volleyball

  • BCCAA All-Rookie Team

Elizabeth Davis (Glenlyon), 1st year leftside, women's volleyball

  • BCCAA Rookie of the Year
  • BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star
  • BCCAA All-Rookie Team
  • BCCAA Athlete of the Week

Jon Joerstad (Oslo, Norway), 1st year righstide, men's volleyball

  • BCCAA All-Rookie Team

Blake Mansbridge (Nanaimo), 3rd year guard, men's basketball

  • SIRC CCAA Academic All-Canadian
  • BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star

Chelsea McMullen (Pr. George), 3rd year wing/pt, women's basketball

  • SIRC CCAA Academic All-Canadian
  • BCCAA 1st Team All-Star
  • BCCAA Athlete of the Week

Aija Salvador (Oak Bay), 1st year wing/pt, women's basketball

  • BCCAA Rookie of the Year
  • BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star
  • BCCAA All-Rookie Team

Five student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were Blake Mansbridge (men's basketball), Anya Weare (women's basketball), Chris Abra (men's volleyball), Loren Cory (women's volleyball) and Kevin Walz (men's golf).

Five additional student-athletes were recognized as Team Rookie. Those included Suzanna Campbell from Penticton Senior Secondary(women's volleyball), from Oslo, Norway . Jon Joerstad (men's volleyball), Stelly's grad Jordan Elvedahl (men's basketball), Jordan Krulicki from Red Deer (men's golf) and Aija Salvador from Oak Bay High (women's basketball).

A final group of Camosun athletes were honoured for motivating others through demonstrating outstanding character and a positive attitude. The Team Spirit award was presented to Blaine Barron (men's volleyball), Ryan Erikson (men's basketball), Jessica Williams (women's basketball) and Hilary Graham (women's volleyball).

"I'm very proud of all the hard work and accomplishments made by our student-athletes and coaches and we are looking forward to the season ahead," said Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews.

Get the flash player here:


Bonita Joe
Camosun College Chargers Athletics

Last updated: September 23, 2015 5:17 pm

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2019 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: August 18, 2019 at 4:40 am Change Everything logo for print