Camosun logo for print

Chargers women's basketball team are 2008-09 BCCAA Provincial Champions

March 9, 2009

Brett Westcott and his Camosun College Chargers women’s team are bringing home the gold today after defeating defending BCCAA Champions, the UNBC Timberwolves (77-61) last night in North Vancouver at the 2008-09 BCCAA Provincial Basketball Championships.

Chargers women's basketball champs
It was a sweet victory for the Chargers who lost to the T-Wolves 71-54 in last year’s championship final which was hosted on Timberwolf territory at UNBC in Prince George.

“It's sweet to win gold,” commented Coach Westcott. “But it's even nicer for our vets who lost in last year’s final against UNBC to be able to come back and turn things around to win!”

Last night, the Chargers came out flying to lead 25-11 at the end of the first quarter. The T-wolves came back strong in the second quarter to narrow the gap to just two points before the Chargers closed out the first half with a 35-29 advantage. After three quarters, the Chargers stretched their lead to 12 points. Despite a spirited run early in the final quarter, UNBC did just not have enough to overcome the swarming Chargers defense.

Third-year point/wing Kate Carlson (Spectrum) earned Player of the Game honours for Camosun with 14 points, 9 rebounds, 5 assists and 5 steals. Shooting guard Carly Hopp (Oak Bay) who was earlier named to the BCCAA Women’s All-Rookie Team, also had a big game with 17 points. Second-year veterans and BCCAA All-Stars, Teresa Hartrick (Claremont) and Carmen Lapthorne (Mt. Doug) both scored in the double digits with 11 point apiece. Leading the way for UNBC was Laurel Wallace who was named the Timberwolves Player of the Game for her 14 point contribution.

Final results for the BCCAA Basketball Championships


  • Camosun Chargers—Gold
  • UNBC Timberwolves—Silver
  • Langara Falcons—Bronze
Carmen Lapthorne, 2008-09 BCCAA Player of the Year
Carmen Lapthorne
BCCAA Player of the Year


  • UBC-O Heat—Gold
  • VIU Mariners—Silver
  • UNBC Timberwolves—Bronze

Three Camosun student-athletes were named to the Tournament All-Star Team, they included Kate Carlson, Carly Hopp and Carmen Lapthorne. Lapthorne, who was also named BCCAA Player of the Year, picked up additional honours as the 2008-09 BCCAA Championship MVP.

The Chargers continue their quest for gold as they join Canada’s top eight teams in a battle of the best at the CCAA National Women’s Basketball Championship hosted by Cégep de Saint-Foy in Sainte Foy, Québec (March 19-21, 2009).


Brett Westcott
Chargers Head Coach

Last updated: September 23, 2015 5:17 pm

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2019 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: August 17, 2019 at 8:43 am Change Everything logo for print