Camosun logo for print

Media Release
Release Date: April 14, 2016

Last night, student-athletes, coaches and supporters of the Camosun College Chargers Athletics Program gathered at the Harbour Towers Hotel to recognize the achievements of the College’s student-athletes at Camosun’s 22nd Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony.


Camosun College President Sherri Bell presents Charger Mitchell Jesson with the President's Cup

Second-year libero Mitchell Jesson from the Camosun Chargers men’s volleyball team earned the College’s prestigious President’s Cup for his outstanding academic achievement and commitment to the Chargers Athletics program. Enrolled in Camosun’s University Transfer Program, Mitchell received a perfect 9.0 grade point average in the Fall 2015 semester.

Described as “…one of those rare players that every team needs,” by Chargers men’s volleyball Head Coach Charles Parkinson, Mitchell was a key part of the energy that drove the Chargers to back to back PACWEST Gold medals and a National Championship title over the past two years.

Presenting Mitchell with the award was Camosun College President Sherri Bell. “I am continually impressed by the incredible achievements made by student-athletes like Mitchell,” she stated. “Camosun is extremely proud of the accomplishments all the Chargers have made.”

The Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport was awarded to third-year Chargers men’s volleyball middle Haakon Ostrem (Troms, Norway) who was selected for his fighting spirit, commitment to excellence and unbridled allegiance to his teammates and the Chargers program.

Fifteen student-athletes were recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments at the Provincial and National levels. Sponsored by Accent Inns and Wilson’s Transportation, the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) and Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) awards were presented to:

Kathryn Candell
(Pacific Christian, Victoria)
Women's Basketball CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
Katie Fetting
(Lethbridge, AB)
Women's Basketball CCAA Athlete of the Week (Nov. 11, 2015)
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 2-8, 2015)
Mat Hampton
(Oak Bay, Victoria)
Men's Basketball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 4-10, 2016)
Tessa Lannon-Paakspuu
(Penticton Secondary)
Women's Basketball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Vitor Macedo
(Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Men's Volleyball CCAA Academic All-Canadian
CCAA Athlete of the Week (Mar. 2, 2016)
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Oct. 13-18, 2015)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb. 22-28, 2016)
Morgan Monkman
(Smithers Secondary)
Women's Volleyball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Ted Neilson
(Dover Bay Secondary)
Men's Basketball PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
Haakon Ostrem
Troms, Norway)
Men's Volleyball CCAA Athlete of the Week (Nov. 11, 2015)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 2-8, 2015)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb. 15-21, 2016)
Jeff Riches
(Claremont, Victoria)
Men's Golf CCCA Athlete of the Week (Sept. 20, 2015)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Sept. 21-27, 2015)
Mychaela Roelants
(Highland Secondary, Comox)
Women's Volleyball PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 25-31, 2016)
Brady Stead
(Vernon Secondary)
Men's Golf CCAA All-Canadian
CCAA Athlete of the Week (Oct. 7, 2015)
PACWEST Men's Individual Gold Medalist
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
Emily Thorlakson
(Kalamalka, Vernon)
Women's Volleyball PACWEST Academic Excellence (2014-2016)
Savana Walkingbear
(Turtleford, SK)
Men's Volleyball PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Oct. 26 - Nov. 1, 2015)
Kelly Young
(Oak Bay, Victoria)
Women's Basketball CCAA Athlete of the Week (Jan. 20, 2016)
PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 11-17, 2016)
Michelle Zygmunt
(WJ Mouat, Abbotsford
Women's Volleyball PACWEST 1st Team All-Star

Front Row (L-R): John Wilson (Wilson’s Transportation, John Espley (Accent Inns), Bruce Hunter (PACWEST). Sponsors of the CCAA & PACWEST Conference Awards with the Chargers awards recipients.

Five student-athletes were recognized as Team Rookie. Included were Mat Hampton – men’s basketball (Oak Bay), Lucas Dellabough – men’s volleyball (Lambrick Park), Morgan Monkman – women’s volleyball (Smithers), Tessa Lannon-Paakspuu – women’s basketball (Penticton) and Mac Keats – men’s golf (Cochrane, AB).

Five additional student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were Grant Maskiewich – men’s golf (Smithers), Savana Wallkingbear - men’s volleyball (Turtleford, SK), Stephanie Gailitzine – women’s volleyball (Lambrick Park). Quinn Yates – men’s basketball (Edward Milne, Sooke) and Kelly Young – women’s basketball (Oak Bay, Victoria).

A final group of Camosun athletes received the Team MVP award and included Kathryn Candell – women’s basketball (Pacific Christian), AJ Beaudry – men’s basketball (Winnipeg, MB), Brady Stead – men’s golf (Vernon, BC), Katie Fetting – women’s volleyball (Lethbridge, AB) and Vitor Macedo – men’s volleyball (Rio de Janiero, Brazil).

Nine student-athletes graduating from the Chargers athletics program were also recognized for their valued contributions. Included were fifth-year grads Vitor Macedo (men’s volleyball), Alex Sadowski (men’s volleyball) and Brady Stead (men’s golf), fourth-year student-athletes James Giuffre (men’s basketball), Grant Maskiewich (men’s golf) and Jamie Rodstrom (women’s volleyball), and third-year players from the women’s basketball program, Olivia Bakker, Rachael Bakker and Kelly Young.

This year’s medal finishes for the Chargers included:

  • Men’s Golf - CCAA National & PACWEST Provincial Gold Medalists
  • Men’s Volleyball - PACWEST Provincial Gold Medalists
  • Men’s Basketball - PACWEST Provincial Silver Medalists

“This was another great year for the Chargers,” said Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews. “We’re extremely proud of the achievements made by our student-athletes and coaches and we look forward to hosting the CCAA National Women’s Volleyball Championship in March 2017!”

Find our gallery of photos from the awards ceremony here

View the 2015-16 Chargers highlight reel on YouTube

Last updated: April 15, 2016 9:57 am

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2020 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: February 23, 2020 at 6:04 pm Change Everything logo for print