Camosun logo for print

Archived Content

This archived web page remains online for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated and may contain out of date information. If you’re looking for specific information and haven’t found it, please contact

April 11, 2013

Student-athletes, coaches and supporters of the Camosun Chargers gathered to recognize the achievements of the college’s student-athletes at Camosun’s 19th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony at the Harbour Towers Hotel, April 11.

Third-year wing Elyse Matthews from the Chargers women’s basketball team took the spotlight earning the prestigious President’s Cup award for her outstanding achievements in academics and athletics.

Ms. Matthews scored a perfect 9.0 grade point average in her Fall 2012 full-time program of studies in Camosun’s University Transfer program. Described as an outstanding leader and exceptionally talented athlete, Ms. Matthews earned a number of awards for her athletic and scholastic achievements this season including the SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian Award, the PACWEST Academic Award, the PACWEST 1st Team All-Star Award and the Chargers Women’s Basketball Team Leadership Award.

“I am continually impressed by the achievements of the Chargers student-athletes,” stated John Boraas, Camosun College Vice President Academic. “This is the second-consecutive year that an individual from the Chargers women’s basketball program has achieved a 9.0 grade point average and Camosun is extremely proud of all the accomplishments the Chargers athletes have made.” 

Fifth-year men’s volleyball leftside Garrett Marcellus  was the recipient of the Linda Henderson Award for Excellence for demonstrating commitment, strength of character and a high level of proficiency in the sport of volleyball. 

As one of only four players to ever play five full years at Camosun, Marcellus was recognized for his commitment to the Chargers program, his dedication to developing into the best athlete he could be, his strength of character and his career as both an All-Star and a Provincial Champion.

A new award was presented in honour of the late Chargers setter, Derek Twomey, who passed away tragically two years ago. The Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport was awarded to second-year Chargers setter Ryan Thain (Surrey, BC) who was selected by Derek’s former team mates and coaches as the first-time winner of the scholarship for his fighting spirit, commitment to hard work and passion for the game.

Sponsored by Accent Inns, the PACWEST Academic Excellence Award was presented to 11 Camosun student-athletes for achieving an honours standing over a minimum period of one full academic year. Recipients from the women’s basketball team included Haley Carmichael (Arts & Science), Brianne Larson (Arts & Science), Elyse Matthews (University Transfer) and Melissa Poce (Sport Management). From men’s basketball were Jordan Elvedahl (Sport Performance) and Rulon Schmidt (Mechanical Engineering). From men’s golf was Jared Hundza (Business Administration) and from men’s volleyball, Alex Sadowski (Electrical Engineering). Women’s volleyball team recipients included Kelsey Clarke (Associate of Arts), Carly Hilliard (Arts & Science) and Morgan Marshall (Exercise Wellness).

A record number of student-athletes were recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments at the Provincial and National levels. Eighteen Chargers were the recipients of the PACWEST and CCAA awards which were sponsored by Wilson’s Transportation:

AthleteSport Award(s)
Jarred Callbeck Men’s Golf CCAA All-Canadian
SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST Men’s Player of the Year
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Sept. 24-30, 2012)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Sept. 10-16, 2012)
Natalie Delange Women’s Volleyball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Drake Downer Men’s Basketball  PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 26-Dec. 2, 2012)
Jordan Elvedahl Men’s Basketball SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
Jeremy Finn Men’s Volleyball PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 12-18, 2012)
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 21-27, 2013)
Ella Goldschmid Women’s Basketball SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 7-13, 2013)
Hilary Graham Women’s Volleyball SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb. 4-10, 2013)
Carly Hilliard Women’s Volleyball PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 19-25, 2012)
Andrew Inglis Men’s Volleyball PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 19-25, 2012)
Kaz Kobayashi Men’s Basketball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Ryan Marcellus Men’s Volleyball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Morgan Marshall Women’s Volleyball PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 7-13, 2013)
Elyse Matthews Women’s Basketball SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
Lachlan Polson Men’s Volleyball PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Alex Sadowski Men’s Volleyball SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian
PACWEST 1st Team All-Star
Melissa Van Dyk Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year
PACWEST All-Rookie Team
Alex Wolf  Men’s Volleyball PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 28-Feb. 3, 2013)
Evan Woodson  Men’s Basketball  PACWEST All-Rookie Team

Five student-athletes were recognized as Team Rookie. Those included Natalie Delange from GP Vanier, Courtenay (women’s volleyball), Esquimalt grad  James Giuffre (men’s basketball), Lachlan Polson from Claremont (men’s volleyball), Grant Maskiewich from Smithers Secondary (men’s golf) and Claremont grad Melissa Van Dyk (women’s basketball).

Five additional student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were Garrett Marcellus (men’s volleyball), Morgan Marshall (women’s volleyball), Elyse Matthews (women’s basketball), Rulon Schmidt (men’s basketball) and Kevin Walz (men’s golf).

A final group of Camosun athletes received the Team MVP award and included Jarred Callbeck (men’s golf), Jordan Elvedahl (men’s basketball), Hilary Graham (women’s volleyball), Ella Goldschmid (women’s basketball) and Andrew Inglis (men’s volleyball).

Student-athletes graduating from the Chargers athletics program were also recognized for their valued contributions, included were third-year student-athletes  Jordan Elvedahl, Prab Parmar and Rulon Schmidt from the men’s basketball program; fifth-year veterans Andrew Inglis and Garrett Marcellus from men’s volleyball; third-year student-athletes Chhase McFarlen (men’s volleyball) and Haley Carmichael (women’s basketball) and sixth-year golf veteran Kevin Walz.

“Our student-athletes and coaches worked extremely hard this year and I’m very proud of their achievements,” said Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews.  “We look forward to another great season in 2013-14!”


Bonita Joe
Marketing & Communications
Camosun College Chargers

Last updated: April 12, 2013 11:55 am

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2019 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: May 21, 2019 at 6:19 pm Change Everything logo for print