Camosun logo for print

Archived Content

This archived web page remains online for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated and may contain out of date information. If you’re looking for specific information and haven’t found it, please contact

April 11, 2008

Fifth-year women’s volleyball power hitter, Dana Allan, was awarded the prestigious President’s Cup for the second consecutive year at the 14th Annual Camosun College Chargers Athletic Awards Ceremony, April 10, emceed by A-Channel’s Mira Laurence and Jordan Cunningham.

Allan earned the President’s Cup for achieving the highest student-athlete grade point average (8.67) for the Fall 2007 semester in Camosun’s University Transfer program and for her high level of commitment to the Chargers athletics program.

“Earning the Cup for the second time is a great honour. I can’t think of a better way to end my career as a student-athlete at Camosun,” remarked Allan, who picked up a number of awards over the course of the evening.

Allan was among eight Camosun student-athletes who received the British Columbia Colleges’ Athletic Association (BCCAA) Academic Excellence Award for achieving an academic honours standing over a one-year period. From the Chargers volleyball program, were Chris Abra (University Transfer), Dan Goodburn (University Transfer), Sachi Ihara (Jazz Studies) and Megan Welle (Associate of Science). From the Camosun’s basketball program were Kendall Allen (Associate of Arts), Kate Carlson (Criminal Justice) and Jeff Spoor (University Transfer).

Six Chargers received the Accent Inns Student-Athlete Excellence Award for achieving academic honours over the Fall 2007 term. They included Marek Downarowicz (men’s basketball; University Transfer), Teresa Hartrick (women’s basketball; Associate of Arts), Ashley MacKay (women’s basketball; Nursing), Laura Ouilette (women’s volleyball; Associate of Arts), Caitlin Weir (women’s volleyball; Nursing) and Curtis Wood ((men’s volleyball; Exercise & Wellness).

In recognition of their outstanding academic and athletic performances throughout the BCCAA and Canadian Colleges’ Athletic Association (CCAA) conferences, nine student-athletes were presented with the following awards:

Kate Carlson
(women’s basketball)

CCAA Academic All-Canadian
BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star

Brad Clapp
(men’s golf)
CCAA Men’s Individual Bronze Medalist
BCCAA Men’s Individual Gold Medalist
Dan Goodburn
(men’s volleyball)

CCAA Academic All-Canadian
BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star

Phil Kondrak
(men’s golf)

CCAA Men’s Individual Silver Medalist
BCCAA Men’s Individual Bronze Medalist


Jeff Krawetz
(men’s basketball)
BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star
Carmen Lapthorne
(women’s basketball)
BCCAA All-Rookie Team
Ashley MacKay
(women’s basketball)

CCAA Academic All-Canadian
BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star

Jill Proudfoot
(women’s basketball)
BCCAA 2nd Team All-Star
Jeff Spoor
(men’s basketball)

CCAA All-Canadian
CCAA Academic All-Canadian
BCCAA 1st Team All-Star

Special recognition was made to Camosun basketball head coaches Gord Thatcher and Brett Westcott, recipients of the 2007-08 BCCAA Men’s and Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year awards as well as to the Chargers medal-winning teams which included Camosun’s Men’s Golf team (CCAA silver medalists; BCCAA gold medalists), the Chargers women’s basketball team (BCCAA silver medalists) and the men’s basketball team (BCCAA bronze medalists).

Coach Westcott was also acknowledged for recently being named the Basketball BC College Coach of the Year and to men’s basketball student-athlete Jeff Spoor, who earned the title of Basketball BC College Male Athlete of the Year. Both Westcott and Spoor will receive their awards at the 2008 Basketball BC Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner on April 26.

Four Camosun student-athletes were named BCCAA Athlete of the Week for their outstanding athletic performances. These included Camosun golfers Brad Clapp (who won the award twice over the golf season) and Phil Kondrak and volleyball student-athletes Dana Allan and Dan Goodburn.

“It was another great year for the Chargers,” commented Recreation and Athletics Coordinator, Graham Matthews. “For the very first time, our women’s basketball team came home with a medal from the BC’s and they came very close to winning the gold! We had a record-breaking number of student-athletes recognized for their athleticism and their academic accomplishments! It’s a solid testament to how the Chargers program is developing as a highly competitive program.”

Five student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were President’s Cup recipient Dana Allan (women’s volleyball), Max Bell (men’s basketball), Kate Carlson (women’s basketball), Brad Clapp (men’s golf) and Dan Goodburn (men’s volleyball).

Five additional student-athletes were recognized as their team’s Rookie of the Year. Those included Phil Kondrak (men’s golf), Carmen Lapthorne (women’s basketball), Tanisha Marcelle (women’s volleyball), Derek Twomey (men’s volleyball) and Brian Waterman (men’s basketball).

A final group of Camosun athletes were honoured for motivating others with their outstanding character and positive attitude. The Team Spirit award was presented to Chris Abra (men’s volleyball), Lee Alarie (men’s golf), Rachel Griffin (women’s basketball), Laura Ouilette (women’s volleyball) and Shohei Kizu (men’s basketball).

Camosun College President Dr. Liz Ashton closed the evening by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of the Chargers coaches, student-athletes and staff and welcomed everyone to the ribbon-cutting ceremony of the new Pacific Sports Institute this Fall.

“The new institute and the programs and services it offers, will enrich not only our athletic programs but student life in general, and contribute to the health and well-being of our whole campus community and the community beyond,” remarked Dr. Ashton.


Graham Matthews
Recreation and Athletics Coordinator
Phone: 250–370–3601

Last updated: April 11, 2008 2:19 pm

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2019 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: May 22, 2019 at 8:23 am Change Everything logo for print