Camosun logo for print

Archived Content

This archived web page remains online for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated and may contain out of date information. If you’re looking for specific information and haven’t found it, please contact

April 12, 2007

Fourth-year women’s volleyball outside hitter, Dana Allan, was awarded the prestigious President’s Cup at the 13th Annual Camosun College Chargers Athletic Awards Ceremony, April 12, emceed by A-Channel’s Mira Laurence and Jordan Cunningham.

Allan earned the President’s Cup for achieving the highest student-athlete grade point average (9.0) for the Fall 2006 semester in Camosun’s University Transfer program and for her high level of commitment to the Chargers athletics program.

Allan’s 9.0 GPA is the highest achievable score under Camosun’s grading system and is unrivaled throughout the Chargers’ history.

“This is an amazing honour and a great way to end the year,” remarked Allan, who picked up a number of awards over the course of the evening.

Allan was among five Camosun student-athletes who received the BCCAA Academic Excellence Award for achieving an academic honours standing over a one-year period. All from the Chargers volleyball program, were Camosun University Transfer students Andrew Abbott, Aislinn Dryden and Dan Goodburn and Associate of Arts student, John Galloway.

Six Chargers received the Accent Inns Student-Athlete Excellence Award for achieving academic honours over the Fall 2006 term. They included Chris Abra (men’s volleyball; University Transfer), Kendall Allan (women’s basketball; Associate of Arts), Kate Carlson (women’s basketball; Criminal Justice), Jeff Krawetz (men’s basketball; Exercise and Wellness), Jeff Spoor (men’s basketball; Civil Engineering) and Megan Welle (women’s basketball; University Transfer).

In recognition of their outstanding athletic performances, four student-athletes were presented with the BCCAA First Team All-Star Award. Included were men’s golf team members, Blake Mithrush (BCCAA Individual gold medalist) and Brad Clapp (BCCAA Individual bronze medalist) and John Galloway from men’s volleyball and Brandon Dunlop from men’s basketball.

Galloway (Lambrick Park grad) received special recognition for excellence in both sport and academics and was presented with the Canadian Colleges’ Athletics Association’s (CCAA) most prestigious student-athlete award, the Sport Information Resource Centre-CCAA Academic All Canadian.

Claremont grad Brandon Dunlop was also honoured for earning the BCCAA Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year Award, which is Camosun’s third consecutive conference award thanks to Head Coach Gord Thatcher’s exceptional recruiting abilities.

For the second consecutive year, Coach Thatcher received the BCCAA Coaching Excellence award in the sport of men’s basketball.

Special recognition was made to the Chargers men’s golf team, winners of the BCCAA Provincial Golf Championships in October 2006.

Eight Camosun student-athletes were named BCCAA Athlete of the Week for their outstanding athletic performance. These included Camosun golfer Blake Mithrush (who won the award twice over the short golf season), President’s Cup winner Dana Allan, women’s volleyball player Caitlin Weir, women’s basketball player Julia Fisher, men’s basketball player Braydon Janzen, CCAA Academic All-Canadian John Galloway, BCCAA Championship All-Star Ashley MacKay and two –time President’s Cup recipient and 2006-07 Academic All-Canadian Dan Goodburn.

“It was a great year for the Chargers,” reported Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews. “For the very first time, all our teams made it to the BCCAA Championships and we had a record-breaking number of student-athletes recognized for their athleticism and their academic accomplishments!”

Four student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were President’s Cup recipient Dana Allan (women’s volleyball), Drew Crout (women’s basketball), Dan Goodburn (men’s volleyball) and Evan Janzen (men’s basketball).

Five additional student-athletes were recognized as their team’s Rookie of the Year. Those included Lee Alarie (men’s golf), Kate Carlson (women’s volleyball), Brandon Dunlop (men’s basketball), Devon Parkinson (men’s volleyball) and Allie Thomas (women’s volleyball).

Four Chargers were honoured for motivating others with their outstanding character and positive attitude. The Team Spirit award was presented to Andrew Abbott (men’s volleyball), Aislinn Dryden (women’s volleyball), Shohei Kizu (men’s basketball) and Maggie Williams (women’s basketball).

Camosun College President Dr. Liz Ashton capped off the evening with congratulations to all and a peek at the highlights for next year, including the opening of the Chargers new home facility in the Pacific Institute for Sport Excellence at Camosun College (PSI) in summer 2008; the new diploma programs at Camosun in Exercise and Wellness, Sport Management and Athlete and Coach Development and additional financial support for student-athletes.

“We anticipate that these provisions will help make Camosun College an even more attractive choice for prospective student athletes,” said Dr. Ashton. “Having the new PSI facility, and the programs and services it will offer, on our campus will enrich not only our athletic programs but student life generally and contribute to the health and well-being of our whole campus community and the community beyond.”


Graham Matthews
Recreation & Athletics Coordinator
Phone: 370–3601

Last updated: May 27, 2008 11:09 am

Contact Us
Camosun College Lansdowne
3100 Foul Bay Rd
Victoria BC V8P 5J2
Camosun College Interurban
4461 Interurban Rd
Victoria BC V9E 2C1
  • 250–370–3000
  • 1–877–554–7555 (toll-free)

©1996–2019 Camosun College | Victoria BC, Canada | Printed: May 25, 2019 at 4:46 am Change Everything logo for print